» » SFJAZZ Collective - SF Jazz Collective

SFJAZZ Collective - SF Jazz Collective flac album

SFJAZZ Collective - SF Jazz Collective flac album
  • Performer: SFJAZZ Collective
  • Title: SF Jazz Collective
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Style: Modern Creative,Post-Bop
  • Recording date: March, 2004 - April, 2004
  • Date of release: May 24, 2005
  • MP3 size: 1268 mb
  • FLAC size 1158 mb
  • Duration: 01:13:52

The group picks the work of a jazz composer's top study every year, and for 2004 it was Ornette Coleman. There are three of his compositions on this release, along with works by bandmembers. The Coleman tunes are revelatory with brilliant work by the two saxophonists.

Founded by SFJAZZ in 2004, the SFJAZZ Collective is a leaderless group and a democratic composer’s workshop that represents what’s happening now in jazz. The SFJAZZ Collective has gone though numerous line up changes over the years and has featured Bobby Hutcherson, Joshua Redman, Miguel Zenón, Robin Eubanks, Eric Harland, Mark Turner, Matt Penman, Avishai Cohen, Sean Jones, Andre Hayward, Stefon Harris, Dave Douglas, Nicholas Payton, Joe Lovano, Josh Roseman, Renee Rosnes, Jeff Ballard, Robert Hurst, Brian Blade and others.

On Real Jazz Sirius XM 67. Sfjazz collective radio. Led by Marshall Allen, the legacy of Afrofuturism pioneer Sun Ra continues with the Arkestra performing a fusion of big band swing with psyched-out jazz, the blues, electronics, and African musical traditions while establishing a singular visual style that combined futuristic concepts with ancient Egyptian iconography  . The superman of the Bay Area jazz scene. AUG 1–4. Gregory Porter.

The SF Jazz Collective continues to march on, this time focusing on John Coltrane. The opener, "Moment's Notice" is a barnstormer, followed by another Coltrane song, "Naima". Bobby Hutcherson's vibe solo is the centerpiece of the song. If there is one aspect of the album that disappoints it's that there is not a more prominent part for Isaac Smith's wonderfully fluid trombone playing (however he's been replaced by Andre Hayward for the forthcoming tour) but otherwise this is a recording for which I run out superlatives. Two final thoughts - the album is 'live' and the performances must. have been astounding. This album is a very good example of live modern jazz. All the players are in great form, especially Nicholas Peyton. He is a great jazz trumpeter.

SFJAZZ Collective - Inaugural Season Live 2004 - Originals Compositions And Works By Ornette Coleman (SFJAZZ Records 2050107000250). Nicholas Payton, trumpet; Josh Roseman, trombone; Miguel Zenon, alto sax, flute; Joshua Redman, tenor, soprano sax; Bobby Hutcherson, vibes, marimba; Renee Rosnes, piano; Robert Hurst, bass; Brian Blade, drums. SFJAZZ Collective (Nonesuch 79866-2).

The SFJAZZ Collective is an all-star award-winning jazz ensemble comprising eight of the finest at work in jazz today. Launched in 2004 by SFJAZZ in San Francisco, the Collective has become one of the most exciting and acclaimed groups on the jazz scene. The new SFJAZZ Center in San Francisco is the Collective’s home base. The current octet is a burnished international ensemble comprising alto saxophonist Miguel Zenón, tenor saxophonist David Sánchez, vibraphonist Warren Wolf, trumpeter Avishai Cohen, trombonist Robin Eubanks, pianist Edward Simon, bassist Matt Penman and.

Track List

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 Lingala SFJAZZ Collective 12:27
2 Peace Ornette Coleman SFJAZZ Collective 10:09
3 Of This Day's Journey Renee Rosnes SFJAZZ Collective 13:34
4 When Will the Blues Leave Ornette Coleman SFJAZZ Collective 4:50
5 Rise and Fall Joshua Redman SFJAZZ Collective 13:00
6 Una Muy Bonita Ornette Coleman SFJAZZ Collective 11:03
7 March Madness Bobby Hutcherson SFJAZZ Collective 8:49


Brian Blade - Drums, Member of Attributed Artist
Jay Blakesberg - Photography
Bob Blumenthal - Liner Notes
Ornette Coleman - Composer
Jeff Cressman - Audio Production, Engineer, Mixing, Producer
Laura Evans - Associate Producer
Gil Goldstein - Arranger, Assistant Arranger, Member of Attributed Artist
Robert Hurst - Bass, Double Bass, Member of Attributed Artist
Bobby Hutcherson - Composer, Guest Artist, Marimba, Member of Attributed Artist, Vibraphone
Randall Kline - Executive Producer
Sung Lee - Photography
Nicholas Payton - Guest Artist, Member of Attributed Artist, Trumpet
Joshua Redman - Artistic Director, Audio Production, Composer, Member of Attributed Artist, Producer, Sax (Alto), Sax (Soprano), Sax (Tenor)
Josh Roseman - Member of Attributed Artist, Trombone
Renee Rosnes - Composer, Member of Attributed Artist, Piano
SFJAZZ Collective - Primary Artist
Sven Wiederholt - Photography
Miguel Zendon - Flute, Member of Attributed Artist, Sax (Alto)
Miguel Zenón - Flute, Sax (Alto)
Albums Related to SFJAZZ Collective - SF Jazz Collective
Contacts | Privacy Policy | DMCA
All rights reserved.
bmday.it © 2016-2019